retour site Braillenet

Detailed plan of activities related to the European Year of People with Disabilities

back to the proceedings

 

Jean-Louis CARVES

Centre d'accessibilité IBM, Europe Moyen Orient Afrique, IBM Accessibility Center EMEA

carves@fr.ibm.com
ghez@fr.ibm.com

     

Download the powerpoint presentation (1.8 ko)

General framework

Society has benefited in many ways from the Information Technology revolution taking place around the world. In reality, we have just scratched the surface in how these changes will reshape the way we live, do business, participate in education, and access culture. People with disabilities are among the groups that could get the greatest benefits from this revolution

The Internet, for example, has opened up a world of information, education and electronic commerce opportunities to many individuals with disabilities. But the new systems and products have not always been designed with the requirements of disabled people and the elderly in mind. Therefore, they are often not accessible for use by these groups of people.

There is a high risk that IT will cause greater difficulties for disabled and elderly people, rather than promoting new opportunities. Personal service is rapidly being replaced by IT and web-based services, both in public and private sectors. Nearly all these systems make considerable demands on users in terms of their ability to read and write, interpret information quickly and make decisions.

Progress in assistive technology has already made it possible for many people with disabilities to compete successfully for jobs in which information technology is utilized and to provide opportunity for independence. But in a world where technology is evolving so rapidly, more needs to be done to ensure that everyone benefits from and participates fully in today's information technology world where much of the technology is still not designed for accessibility. Using this technology is not difficult when accessibility features are included in the initial design of products and solutions.

The inclusion of new technologies to support accessibility and the migration of "accessibility" to the mainstream through pervasive devices will bring new challenges, new benefits and the opportunity for governments, companies and individuals to realize new value. IBM's commitment to technology and services around accessibility has positioned us to support public and private organisations that wish to exploit them for the benefit of all, thus making accessibility the standard instead of the exception.

Accessibility is key but a tremendous effort is also needed to help more people with disabilities overcome the barriers they face in the labour market preparing for, obtaining and maintaining employment. Workforce diversity is a business imperative for IBM. Respecting and valuing our work force and customer diversity is integral to our success. To compete and win in the marketplace, we need to attract, and to retain, the most talented and motivated people. Our customers expect us to reflect this diversity in our work force. A corporate task force dedicated to people with disabilities was launched several years ago and maintains a focus on new initiatives, as technology and ways of thinking open new avenues of progress.

IBM wants to bring the benefits of our experiences and successes to other organisations.

Working with communities and NGO's representing people with disabilities is the best way to understand community needs and issues and drive IBM R&D to meet these requirements in today's and future mainstream or assistive products and solutions.

Through our Corporate Community Relations programmes we seek to achieve a win / win for both the company and the communities we work in. By working with organisations, we enhance our reputation in the community, we build our brand value, we develop our own knowledge and capabilities as well those of the communities with which we work, we make ourselves more attractive to prospective employees and through our educational activities we increase not just the skills of the community but the pool of talent from which we can recruit.

Areas of concrete activities

EYPD Awareness raising

As the EYPD Bus travels in EU Countries, take the opportunity of this presence to:

Accessibility

IBM Accessibility Centres have been created in Europe, Japan and the US supporting the development of Accessible Products, Assistive Technologies and service offerings. In Europe, IBM's initiatives are driven by the IBM Accessibility Centre in Paris, France, created specifically to promote the IBM accessibility offerings for customers in Europe.

Our main focus will be on Web Accessibility issues and solutions:

Employment

Disability does not mean inability. Many talented individuals with disabilities are willing and able to work but are too often denied gainful employment due to discrimination and the lack of appropriate facilities and support in the workplace

Employers and managers who have hired individuals with disabilities have found that they can work on equal terms and are reliable, productive, and committed employees. Moreover, people with disabilities have already demonstrated a capacity to overcome obstacles, use initiative and strive to succeed, which is exactly what employers need - these are business benefits.

During the EYPD IBM will:

Product Design

Since January 1999, a corporate instruction provides direction to all IBM operating organizations and subsidiaries about features, functions, and controls that must be designed into IBM hardware and software products, Internet web pages, and internal applications to make these offerings accessible to people who have disabilities or who due to aging have reduced abilities.

Education and training within IBM

Accessibility benefits everyone, so it is important to educate everyone about accessibility and assistive technologies, not just people with disabilities.

During the EYPD IBM will:




THE EUROPEAN YEAR OF PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES

2003 is the European Year of People with Disabilities(1) . The main purpose of the Year is to drive forward the political agenda for full integration of people with disabilities. This decision has given an opportunity to people with disabilities across Europe to put their rights at the top of the agenda for Europe and the Members States.

The objectives of the Year are:

(a) To raise awareness of the rights of people with disabilities to protection against discrimination and to full and equal enjoyment of their rights;

(b) To encourage reflection on and discussion of the measures needed to promote equal opportunities for people with disabilities in Europe;

(c) To promote the exchange of experience of good practice and effective strategies devised at local, national and European level;

(d) To reinforce the co-operation between all parties concerned, namely government, the social partners, NGOs, the social services, the private sector, communities, voluntary sector groups, people with disabilities and their families;

(e) To improve communication regarding disability and promote a positive image of people with disabilities;

(f) To raise awareness of the heterogeneity of people with disabilities and of the various kind of disability;

(g) To raise awareness of the multiple discrimination facing people with disabilities;

(h) To pay special attention to awareness of the right of children and young people with disabilities to equality in education, so as to encourage and support their full integration in society and to promote the development of European co-operation between those professionally involved in the education of children and young people with disabilities, in order to improve the integration of pupils and students with special needs in ordinary or specialised establishments and in national and European exchange programmes.




(1). Council Decision of 3 December 2001, Official Journal L 335 of 19.12.2001, WebPages: http://europa.eu.int/comm/employment_social/disability/year_en.html;
http://www.eypd2003.org/eypd/eypd/index.html



Retour aux actes du colloque / Back to the proceedings

retour site Braillenet

L'accessibilité une nécessité pour la société et pour l'industrie

retour aux actes

 

Jean-Louis CARVES

Centre d'accessibilité IBM, Europe Moyen Orient Afrique, IBM Accessibility Center EMEA


carves@fr.ibm.com
ghez@fr.ibm.com

     

Télécharger la présentation powerpoint (1.8 ko)

IBM est partenaire de l'Année Européenne des Personnes Handicapées
http://www.eypd2003.org/eypd/about/partners_en.jsp

Lors du lancement officiel à Athènes le 26 janvier, IBM a rendu public son plan d'action européen pour cette année. Ce plan d'action a reçu le soutien de Mr Yannis Vardakastanis, président du Forum Européen du Handicap ainsi que de la commissaire européenne Madame Anna Diamantopoulou auprès desquels nous avons présenté et validé notre engagement dans la charte des entreprises partenaires de l'année 2003.
IBM lors du lancement officiel de l'année européenne des personnes handicapées

IBM était représenté notamment par le Dr Wilfredo Ferre Director of Occupational Health Services, Health Benefits & Accessibility, Europe Middle East Africa ainsi que par Mr Mr John Terzakis, General Manager IBM Grèce (aux côtés de Mme Anna Diamantopoulou et de Mr Yannis Vardakastanis, Président du Forum Européen du Handicap, sur la photo de droite)

Voici la traduction française de notre plan d'engagement, publié sur le site de l'Année européenne des personnes handicapées :
http://www.eypd2003.org/eypd/about/ibm.jsp

Plan des activités IBM liées à l'Année européenne des personnes handicapées

Cadre général

La société a tiré d'innombrables avantages de cette véritable révolution mondiale que représentent les Technologie de l'Information et de la Communication. En réalité, nous n'avons fait que survoler les différentes façons dont ces changements vont transformer nos modes de vie, de travail, de participation à l'éducation et d'accès à la culture. Les personnes handicapées sont un des groupes les plus à même de bénéficier des avantages de cette révolution.

Internet, par exemple, a permis à de nombreuses personnes handicapées de découvrir tout un monde d'opportunités d'information, d'éducation et de commerce électronique. Mais les nouveaux systèmes et produits n'ont pas toujours été conçus en tenant compte des besoins des personnes âgées ou présentant un handicap, ce qui explique qu'ils sont souvent encore inaccessibles à ces groupes de personnes.

Il existe un risque important que les technologies de l'information provoquent des difficultés accrues pour les personnes handicapées et âgées, plutôt que de promouvoir de nouvelles opportunités. Les services personnels sont en passe d'être rapidement remplacés par des services basés sur les technologies de l'information et en particulier sur le Web, que ce soit dans le secteur public ou privé. Pratiquement tous ces systèmes exigent énormément des utilisateurs en termes de capacité de lecture et d'écriture, d'interprétation rapide de l'information et de prise de décisions.
Les progrès réalisés en matière de technologie d'assistance ont déjà permis à de nombreuses personnes handicapées de postuler avec succès à des postes nécessitant l'utilisation de l'informatique et de leur offrir ainsi une opportunité d'indépendance. Mais dans un monde où la technologie évolue si rapidement, il est impératif de redoubler d'efforts pour que chacun participe et profite pleinement de cet univers, où la technologie n'est encore que rarement conçue pour l'accessibilité. Utiliser cette technologie n'est pas difficile lorsque des fonctions d'accessibilité sont incluses dans la conception initiale des produits et des solutions.

L'intégration de nouvelles technologies pour prendre en charge l'accessibilité et sa normalisation dans des équipements "ordinaires", notamment à travers l'informatique diffuse (téléphones portables, assistants personnels, etc …) sont autant de nouveaux défis à relever, de nouveaux avantages et l'opportunité pour les gouvernements, les entreprises et les individus de profiter de nouveaux services. De par son engagement en matière de technologie et de services liés à l'accessibilité, IBM est parfaitement placée pour soutenir les entreprises publiques et privées désireuses de les exploiter pour le bénéfice de tous, en permettant à l'accessibilité de devenir la norme, et non plus l'exception.

Si l'accessibilité est essentielle, un effort considérable est également nécessaire pour aider davantage de personnes handicapées à surmonter les obstacles auxquels elles doivent faire face sur le marché du travail en préparant, en obtenant et en préservant l'emploi. La diversité de la main-d'œuvre est un impératif commercial pour IBM. Respecter et valoriser notre personnel et nos clients dans toute leur pluralité font partie intégrante de notre succès. Pour être compétitifs et réussir sur le marché, nous devons attirer et retenir les personnes les plus talentueuses et motivées. Nos clients s'attendent à ce que notre personnel reflète cette diversité. Un groupe de travail dédié aux personnes handicapées a été constitué il y a quelques années et poursuit toujours ses efforts grâce à de nouvelles initiatives, à mesure que la technologie et les états d'esprit ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives de progrès.
IBM souhaite faire bénéficier d'autres entreprises de ses expériences et réussites.
Collaborer avec les communautés et les ONG représentant les personnes handicapées est le meilleur moyen de comprendre les besoins et problèmes de ces personnes et d'amener les équipes Recherche & Développement d'IBM à poursuivre leur effort de prise en compte de ces besoins dans la conception et le développement de nos solutions et produits actuels et futurs.

Dans le cadre de nos programmes Corporate Community Relations, nous visons une relation mutuellement profitable aussi bien pour l'entreprise que pour les communautés avec lesquelles nous travaillons. En collaborant avec ces organisations, nous améliorons notre réputation au sein de la communauté, nous construisons notre image de marque, nous développons nos propres connaissances et capacités et celles des communautés avec lesquelles nous travaillons, nous nous rendons plus attractifs auprès des salariés potentiels. Par le biais de nos activités de formation, nous augmentons non seulement les compétences de la communauté, mais également le réservoir de talents parmi lesquels nous pouvons recruter.

Activités concrètes d'IBM

Sensibilisation à l'Année européenne des personnes handicapées

Profiter de la présence du bus AEPH dans les pays de l'Union Européenne pour :

Accessibilité

Des centres d'accessibilité IBM ont été créés en Europe, au Japon et aux Etats-Unis pour soutenir le développement de produits accessibles, de technologies d'assistance et d'offres de services. En Europe, les initiatives d'IBM sont dirigées par le centre d'accessibilité IBM de Paris, créé spécialement pour promouvoir nos offres d'accessibilité IBM auprès des clients européens.

Nous allons essentiellement nous concentrer sur les problèmes et solutions d'accessibilité du Web par différentes actions :

Emploi

Handicap n'est pas synonyme d'incapacité. Bien des personnes de talent souffrant d'un handicap souhaitent et sont capables de travailler, mais se voient trop souvent refuser un emploi rémunéré en raison de la discrimination et du manque d'assistance et d'installations adaptées sur le lieu de travail.

Les employeurs et les dirigeants qui ont embauché des personnes handicapées ont constaté qu'elles peuvent travailler d'égal à égal et qu'elles sont des employés fiables, productifs et motivés. Qui plus est, les personnes handicapées ont déjà démontré leurs capacités à surmonter les obstacles, à faire preuve d'initiative et à se battre pour réussir, exactement ce dont les employeurs ont besoin et qui sont autant d'avantages pour une entreprise.

Au cours de l'AEPH, IBM s'engage à :

Conception de produits

Depuis janvier 1999, une directive interne impose à toutes les unités opérationnelles et filiales d'IBM l'application d'instructions concernant les dispositifs, fonctions et contrôles à intégrer aux matériels et logiciels, pages Web et applications internes d'IBM pour rendre ces offres accessibles aux personnes handicapées et à celles dont le vieillissement réduit les capacités.

Formation interne IBM

L'accessibilité étant bénéfique pour tous, il est important de former chacun d'entre nous, et pas simplement les personnes handicapées, sur les technologies d'accessibilité et d'assistance.

Au cours de l'AEPH, IBM s'engage à :

Retour aux actes du colloque / Back to the proceedings