logo braillenet

The right to Read : Copyright and Visually Impaired People

back to the proceedings

 

David MANN

Chair, Copyright Working Group, European Blind Union
david.mann@rnib.org.uk

     

The Right to Read - Copyright and Beyond

I hope you will forgive me for having slightly changed the title of this presentation..

Regular participants in Braillenet or Inserim conferences will have heard me talk about copyright twice already, in June 1998 (http://www.snv.jussieu.fr/inova/publi/ntevh/copyright.htm)
and February 2000 (http://www.braillenet.org/colloques/Bnet2000/actes/mann_fr.htm).
As this is the last presentation of the afternoon, you might be tempted to leave early if I don't talk about something else as well!

So, I will first summarise where we are in the European Union and the wider world in relation to copyright legislation, and then indicate where we would like to go. After that, I would like to examine other ways in which the "Right to Read" of blind and partially sighted people can be pursued, with publishers and governments.


Exceptions and Limitations to Copyright Law.

The European Blind Union respects the concept of copyright, that is to say the protection of the moral and economic rights of authors and publishers. At the same time, we have always asserted that it is socially unacceptable for copyright restrictions to operate in such a way as to delay or deny access to published information by those who, because of an impairment, need to change the manner in which the text or other information is presented.

The European Copyright Directive
(English version at http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/topics/multi/digital_rights/doc/directive_copyright_en.pdf, French version at http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/topics/multi/digital_rights/doc/directive_copyright_fr.pdf)
was finally promulgated in June 2001, and should have been transposed into national law by last December. Most states failed to meet that deadline but will be completing transposition during 2003. Article 5.3.b of the Directive allows member states to introduce in their national legislation exceptions or limitations to copyright for the benefit of people with a disability that affects the way in which they read. Hence exceptions could be extended to other categories of disabled people as well as to blind or partially sighted citizens.

The approach of the Directive does no more than reflect existing international treaties - the Berne Convention and the WIPO Copyright Treaty of 1996 (http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/topics/multi/digital_rights/doc/directive_copyright_en.pdf). These allow individual states to legislate for exceptions for "special cases" which do not conflict with the normal exploitation of the work or the rights holders' legitimate interests.

The Scandinavian countries, along with Spain and Portugal, had exceptions for the benefit of visually impaired people on their statute books well before the conclusion of the Directive. Ireland joined them in 2000, and the United Kingdom is about to bring into force an Act of Parliament agreed last year. Germany, Austria and France have drawn up draft laws. The development in France is, if I may say so, particularly welcome, since France has been perceived rightly or wrongly, as a country in which both publishers and governments were very firmly set against such exceptions.

The drawback to these otherwise encouraging developments is that each country is finding its own solution, its own combination of exceptions or statutory licences, its own definition of who can and cannot benefit from the exception and operate under it.

The same scenario applies outside the European Union, where a number of major countries such as the USA, Canada, Australia and Japan have introduced legislation, but each in their own way.

In the digital age this diversity is much more frustrating than it would have been before. Resources are scarce, and only a small proportion of the material published in print ever finds its way into an accessible format. It therefore makes eminent sense for material that has been produced in one country to be available to blind people in another. If a work has been produced in braille in, say, Canada, it is much easier simply to send the file formatted for braille over the Internet to France, Britain or anywhere else, for hard copy production at the user's end. Likewise with digital audio and any other "special" file. But copyright laws prevent this. However generous the laws in the producer country, they do not apply to other jurisdictions, even if the destination countries have appropriate legislation of their own.

So, within the European Union and beyond, we need first to ensure that each country has reasonable exceptions or limitations in its own copyright regime. We should then try to identify common themes within this diversity and find ways of overcoming territorial limitations..

The World Blind Union (WBU) has been building relationships with the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) with just this in mind. One of the major concerns of this UN agency is to encourage developing countries to build their own strong intellectual property laws.

We hope that within the next year or so WIPO will introduce into the advice it gives developing countries one or more models for possible exceptions to copyright in favour of visually impaired people. We also hope they will soon initiate a survey of national laws which, as well as asking if relevant exceptions exist, will ask what is said about "importation" rights. World bodies move slowly, but this could be the first step towards international agreements at government level on the exchange of material from one jurisdiction where there are appropriate exceptions to another with similar ones.


Overcoming Technical Blocks

When you are climbing a mountain, you often think you have reached the summit only to find another ridge beyond. Similarly, where copyright exceptions have been achieved and one set of barriers to information removed, we find ourselves blocked by technological protection measures and some forms of digital rights management.

As with copyright in general, there is nothing intrinsically wrong with preventing unauthorised copying or using software to control access to your work, administer payments and so on. Unfortunately, though, these systems usually operate in such a way as to render screen reading systems impotent. You cannot alter the size, font or colour of the display from an e-book or an on-line publication, you cannot turn it into synthetic speech or refreshable braille if it is governed by any of these measures.

Some dedicated e-book readers actually do have a speech facility, but publishers "disable" this in their publications at certain levels of security, probably because they want to negotiate their audio rights separately.

The European Copyright Directive is potentially quite helpful here - given the general nature of such instruments. In Article 6.4. it lays down that member states must ensure that the beneficiaries of any exceptions for disabled people (along with those of some other exceptions) must be given access to material which they are prevented from reading by a technological protection measure. In the absence of voluntary agreements, member states must ensure that adequate mechanisms exist to achieve this. This does not necessarily mean that blind people would be allowed to hack into systems - although the Danish implementation appears to suggest that they can if the rights holder is slow in responding to complaints. The solution may be administrative, and it may consist of making "unblocked" copies available to bona fide beneficiaries. How well it will work in each country remains to be seen.

The ideal solution to these problems would be a technological one, the implementation of inclusive design principles, but I suspect we will always be running hard to keep up with development sand so we need administrative protection as a fallback.

It is essential to remember that the provisions of Article 6.4 of the Directive only apply if the country in question already has relevant exceptions in its copyright law. This is one more reason why such an exception is vital.


Closing the Information Gap

You may think that I am obsessed with copyright. Let me assure you that I fully realise that copyright barriers are not the only ones which prevent us from fully exercising our right to read. Sheer lack of human, technical and financial resources constitutes a major problem.

In the UK, it has been estimated that only around 5% of the material published in print is available in any accessible format one year later. This included both commercial publications and titles reproduced by specialist agencies. To close this divide, we need to work closely with publishers and with government.


Working with publishers, nationally and internationally

Our work would be much easier if publishers were able to provide us with an authentic electronic file of their titles, preferably before publication. This sounds easier than it is. My understanding is that publishers themselves do not always have such "authentic" files, and that the only available versions are actually full of printers' formatting instructions. There is, anyway, no consistency of file specification within the industry.

There are two paths one can go down, that of compulsion and that of building trust. We could call for all publishers to be obliged to deposit an electronic version of their titles, to an agreed specification, in some sort of central repository to which individuals or organisations could have access. This has been mooted in the USA in respect of educational books. Federal legislation has not gone through, but work on agreeing a single national specification has proceeded nonetheless, with the Daisy Standard winning out. Some individual states in the USA do have laws compelling the deposit of an electronic copy if a book is to be used in the public education system. Acceptance of your work by the public education authorities is no doubt a substantial carrot in persuading the publishers that such laws are worthwhile.

The alternative is for agencies and publishers to build up relations of trust on a voluntary basis. A publisher would learn to accept that the file passed over would not be abused and that accessible material would go to a controlled distribution group. This might open the way to a range of new and imaginative forms of collaboration. An agency might convert a file to the Daisy format and give it back to the publisher for them to exploit commercially. An agency might undertake braille production while advising the publisher on how to produce acceptable large print themselves. Agencies might make available to publishers electronic files which they have themselves made of earlier titles, of which the publisher has no electronic record.

The aim of such collaboration is twofold. To facilitate the production of more titles, more promptly, and to encourage the development of a larger commercial market in accessible material.

The commercial market for audio and large print is small in terms of the number of titles produced, especially unabridged titles. It is in our interests to make common cause with publishers in finding ways of increasing these markets. We should be campaigning alongside them to call for tax incentives which would encourage ventures in this area. Within Europe, we should be campaigning with authors and publishers to have value added tax (VAT) removed from audio books so as to bring them into line with print books.

WBU, working in collaboration with the Libraries for the Blind Section of the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) is now developing links with the International Publishers Association. At a meeting in Geneva earlier this month, we agreed to set up a permanent joint working group which can help to allay publishers' fears and explore the ways in which we can work together for our shared aim of getting creative material to as many people as possible.


Support from Governments

Where does the responsibility ultimately lie for guaranteeing our right to read?

Sometimes we can assert that the originator of information has a duty to make it accessible at their own cost. This is true of "citizen information", for example Government fact sheets, tax forms, information on voting or health promotion leaflets. It is equally true with "customer information" such as bills from utility companies, bank statements, restaurant menus or instruction manuals for domestic equipment..

In the education sector, those who provide the education have a duty to make the curriculum accessible.

But there is a whole range of other, general reading material which does not fall into any of these categories. The vast range of published material which forms the backbone of the retail book trade and local public libraries. However one classifies it, this is the bedrock of our culture, without which education is incomplete and life not rich. Whether a classical novel or a light romance, a biography, travelogue, collection of poems or political memoirs, its unavailability to visually impaired readers deprives them of full participation in Society. It is difficult to argue here that the responsibility lies with authors or publishers to undertake loss-making activities. Even with compulsory electronic deposit, the production of alternative formats will often not be commercially viable. The financial responsibility should not lie with the blind individual or with the charitable agencies which serve them. It must lie with the public purse, with society as a whole, with the Government.

In the UK we have called on the Government to set up a major new "Access to Reading" Fund. We have suggested that £20m (30 million Euro) per year be made available. New and existing agencies could bid for capital and revenue projects. Only in this way will we come anywhere near closing the information divide.

You will be astonished to hear that the British Government has not yet agreed to our request! Such sums do not appear magically - unless there is a war. It will take a lot more campaigning on our part.

In some countries, notably the USA, Government already puts substantial sums into the production and distribution of accessible formats. It may not be enough, but it is a lot better than nothing.


Conclusion

The Right to Read is fundamental. It is recognised in Articles 19 and 27 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. In a society so dependent on visual information, - be it on paper or on a computer screen - the right to read is crucial.

Sound copyright exceptions which acknowledge the rights of disabled people as well as those of authors and publishers are an important basis for the development of trust and collaboration between all parties. We need then to build on that foundation a recognition that our Right to Read will only be fully realised if publishers and governments also play their part at both national and international level.


April 2003.



Retour aux actes du colloque / Back to the proceedings

logo braillenet

Le droit de lire : Copyright et personnes handicapées visuelles

retour  aux actes

 

David MANN

Coordinateur du groupe de travail sur le copyright, Union Européenne des Aveugles
david.mann@rnib.org.uk

     

Le droit de lire : le copyright et au-delà

Les habitués des colloques de BrailleNet ou de l'Inserm m'auront déjà entendu parler deux fois du copyright : la première en juin 1998 (http://www.snv.jussieu.fr/inova/publi/ntevh/copyright.htm),
la deuxième en février 2000 (http://www.braillenet.org/colloques/Bnet2000/actes/mann_fr.htm).

Comme c'est une des dernières présentations de l'après-midi, vous pourriez être tentés de quitter le colloque plus tôt, si je ne parle pas d'autre chose !

Donc, je vais résumer la situation du copyright, dans l'Union européenne et ailleurs, et indiquer la direction où nous voudrions aller. Après cela, je voudrais examiner les autres voies par lesquelles "Le Droit de lire" des personnes déficientes visuelles pourrait être instauré, en lien avec les éditeurs et les gouvernements.

Exceptions et limitations à la loi sur le copyright.

L'Union Européenne des Aveugles respecte le concept de copyright, c'est-à-dire la protection d'un droit moral et économique des auteurs et des éditeurs. Dans le même temps, nous avons toujours soutenu qu'il était socialement inacceptable que des restrictions liées au copyright opèrent de manière telle qu'elles retardent, ou empêchent, l'accès à l'information publiée, pour ceux qui, à cause d'un handicap, ont besoin d'une adaptation d'un texte ou de toute autre information.

La Directive Européenne sur le copyright [1] a finalement été promulguée en juin 2001, et devait être transposée dans les lois nationales au plus tard en décembre dernier. La plupart des Etats n'ont pas respecté la date limite, mais devront avoir terminé la transposition dans le courant de l'année 2003. L'article 5.3b de la Directive autorise les Etats membres à introduire dans leur législation des exceptions ou des limitations au copyright, au bénéfice de personnes dont le handicap affecte la manière de lire. Partant de là, des exceptions pourraient être étendues à d'autres personnes handicapées que les aveugles ou les malvoyants.

L'approche de la Directive ne fait que refléter les traités internationaux en vigueur - la Convention de Berne et le Traité sur le Copyright (1996) de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Propriété Intellectuelle (OMPI)[2]. Ces textes autorisent les Etats à voter des exceptions "pour des cas spéciaux" qui ne doivent pas entrer en conflit avec l'exploitation normale d'une œuvre ni les intérêts légitimes des ayants-droits.

Les pays scandinaves, de même que l'Espagne et le Portugal, appliquaient des exceptions au bénéfice des personnes déficientes visuelles bien avant les conclusions de la Directive. L'Irlande les avait rejoints en 2000, et le Royaume Uni est sur le point de faire appliquer un Acte du Parlement voté l'année dernière. L'Allemagne, l'Autriche et la France ont rédigé des projets de loi. En France, une avancée serait particulièrement bienvenue, si je puis dire, car la France a été perçue, à tort ou à raison, comme un pays dans lequel les éditeurs et les gouvernements étaient très fermement opposés à de telles exceptions..

L'inconvénient de ces développements, par ailleurs encourageants, est que chaque pays crée sa propre solution, sa propre combinaison d'exceptions ou de licences, sa propre définition des personnes qui peuvent, ou ne peuvent pas, bénéficier de l'exception.

Le même scénario s'applique en dehors de l'Union Européenne, un grand nombre de pays importants tels que les Etats-Unis, le Canada, l'Australie et le Japon, ont aménagé la législation, chacun à sa façon.

A l'ère numérique, cette diversité est bien plus frustrante qu'elle ne l'aurait été avant. Les ressources sont rares, et seulement une faible part des ouvrages publiés "en noir" est adaptée sur un support accessible. Il est donc éminemment souhaitable qu'un ouvrage adapté et produit dans un pays soit disponible dans un autre. Si une œuvre a été produite en braille, disons au Canada, il est bien plus simple d'envoyer par Internet le fichier formaté pour le braille en France, ou en Grande-Bretagne, ou n'importe où, pour une impression sur papier pour un utilisateur. Exactement comme avec l'audio numérique ou tout autre fichier numérisé "spécial". Mais les lois sur le copyright empêchent cela. Quelle que soit la générosité des lois dans le pays d'origine, elles ne s'appliquent pas dans d'autres, même si ces pays destinataires possèdent leurs propres législations adéquates.

Donc, à l'intérieur de l'Union Européenne et au delà, nous avons besoin de nous assurer que chaque pays a prévu des exceptions raisonnables ou des limitations à son propre régime de copyright. Ensuite nous devrions essayer d'identifier les principes communs au sein de cette diversité et trouver les voies de limitations supra-territoriales.

L'Union Mondiale des Aveugles a établi des relations avec l'OMPI dans cet état d'esprit. L'un des soucis majeurs de cette organisation est d'encourager les pays en développement à bâtir leurs propres lois sur la propriété intellectuelle.

Nous espérons que dans les années à venir l'OMPI introduira dans les conseils qu'elle donne aux pays en développement un, ou des, modèles pour de possibles exceptions du copyright en faveur des personnes déficientes visuelles. Nous espérons aussi que l'organisation lancera bientôt une étude sur les différentes dispositions des lois nationales, aussi bien que sur la question des droits "d'importation". Les organisations mondiales bougent lentement, mais ce pourrait être la première étape vers des accords internationaux, au niveau gouvernemental, sur l'échange d'ouvrages en provenance d'une juridiction qui comporte des dispositions appropriées vers une autre aux dispositions semblables.

Surmonter les blocages techniques

Quand vous escaladez une montagne, vous pensez souvent que vous avez atteint le sommet, juste pour trouver une autre crête derrière. De la même manière, là où des exceptions au copyright ont été mises en place et où les barrières à l'information ont été enlevées, vous vous trouvez bloqué par des mesures de protection technique et de gestion des droits numériques.

Comme avec le copyright en général, il n'y a rien de fondamentalement mauvais à empêcher des copies illégales ni à utiliser des logiciels pour contrôler l'accès aux ouvrages ou gérer le paiement des droits, etc … Malheureusement, pourtant, ces systèmes procèdent généralement de telle manière qu'ils rendent la lecture sur ordinateur impossible. Avec ces mesures, vous ne pouvez pas changer ni la taille ni la police de caractères, ni la couleur de l'affichage d'un livre numérique ou d'une publication en ligne, vous ne pouvez pas lire avec une synthèse de parole ni une plage braille. Certaines plates-formes de lectures dédiées ont une synthèse de parole, mais les éditeurs la rendent inopérante par certains dispositifs de sécurité, probablement parce qu'ils veulent négocier séparément leurs droits audio.

La Directive Européenne sur le Copyright peut constituer une aide - étant donné la nature générale de ce genre de mécanisme. Dans l'article 6.4, il est dit que les Etats membres doivent s'assurer que les bénéficiaires de toute exception en faveur des personnes handicapées (aussi bien que les bénéficiaires d'autres exceptions) doivent avoir accès à l'information sans en être empêchés du fait de mesures de protection techniques. En l'absence d'accords volontaires, les Etats membres doivent s'assurer que des mécanismes adéquats existent pour y parvenir. Cela ne signifie pas que les personnes aveugles seraient autorisées à entrer dans les systèmes par effraction - quoique le dispositif Danois semble suggérer qu'ils le pourraient si l'ayant-droit tardait à répondre à leurs réclamations. La solution peut être administrative, consistant à faire et gérer des exemplaires dont le mécanisme de protection numérique a été enlevé au profit de bénéficiaires de "bonne foi". Reste à voir comment ça marche dans chaque pays.

La solution idéale à ces problèmes serait technologique, c'est-à-dire la prise en compte dès l'origine de principes de conception pour tous ; mais je pense que nous aurons toujours à travailler dur pour conserver le contrôle des développements techniques, et que donc nous avons besoin de protection administrative comme recours.

Il est essentiel de se rappeler que les dispositions de l'Article 6.4 de la Directive s'appliquent seulement si le pays en question a déjà introduit des exceptions pertinentes dans son droit d'auteur. C'est une raison de plus pour considérer cette exception comme vitale.


Combler le fossé de l'information

Vous pourriez vous dire que je suis obsédé par le copyright. Laissez-moi vous assurer que je réalise pleinement que les barrières du copyright ne sont pas les seules à nous empêcher d'exercer complètement notre Droit à la lecture.

Au Royaume Uni, on a estimé qu'environ 5% des ouvrages publiés "en noir" sont disponibles sur des supports adaptés dans l'année qui suit leur parution. Ceci inclut aussi bien les productions commerciales que celles des associations. Pour combler ce fossé, nous avons besoin de travailler étroitement avec les éditeurs et avec le gouvernement.


Travailler avec les éditeurs, au plan national et international

Notre travail serait beaucoup plus facile si les éditeurs pouvaient nous fournir la ressource numérique de leurs titres, de préférence avant la sortie du livre. Cela semble plus facile à dire que ça ne l'est. Mon sentiment est que les éditeurs eux-mêmes ne disposent pas toujours de la bonne version numérique, et que les seules versions disponibles sont paramétrées par des instructions de formatage pour les imprimeurs. De toute façon, il n'y a aucun standard industriel de spécifications de format.

On peut choisir deux voies, celle de la contrainte, ou celle de la confiance.

Nous pourrions en appeler à l'obligation pour tous les éditeurs de déposer une version électronique de leurs titres, sous certaines spécifications, dans une sorte de serveur central auquel des individus ou des organisations pourraient avoir accès. Ceci a été commencé aux Etats-Unis pour les manuels scolaires. La législation fédérale ne l'a pas accompli, mais le travail d'adoption d'un seul standard national s'est néanmoins mis en place, avec l'émergence du standard Daisy. Quelques Etats américains ont voté des lois rendant obligatoire le dépôt d'un exemplaire électronique, dès lors qu'un livre est utilisé par le système éducatif public. Le choix, ou non, de tel ouvrage par les autorités éducatives publiques est sans aucun doute une "carotte" pour persuader les éditeurs que de telles lois sont dignes d'intérêt.

L'autre approche est d'établir entre les éditeurs et les associations des relations de confiance basées sur le volontariat. Un éditeur pourrait accepter qu'un fichier transmis ne soit pas utilisé abusivement et que l'ouvrage adapté soit contrôlé par un groupe de distribution. Cela pourrait ouvrir la voie à quantité de nouvelles formes de collaboration. Une association pourrait convertir un fichier au format Daisy et le rendre à l'éditeur pour une exploitation commerciale. Une association pourrait entreprendre une production braille tout en conseillant l'éditeur sur la manière de produire, à des fins d'exploitation commerciale, l'ouvrage en gros caractères. Des associations pourraient mettre à la disposition d'éditeurs électroniques des fichiers antérieurement saisis par elles-mêmes, et dont ces éditeurs ne possèdent pas la ressource numérique.

L'objectif d'une telle collaboration est double : faciliter la production de davantage de titres, plus rapidement, et encourager le développement d'un marché commercial d'ouvrages accessibles.

Le marché commercial des livres audio et en gros caractères est étroit en regard du nombre de titres édités, spécialement pour les ouvrages non abrégés. Il est de notre intérêt de faire cause commune avec les éditeurs pour trouver des moyens d'accroître ces marchés. Nous devrions faire campagne avec eux pour réclamer des incitations fiscales qui encourageraient toute entreprise dans ce domaine. A l'intérieur de l'Europe, nous devrions faire campagne avec les auteurs et les éditeurs pour faire aligner la TVA des livres sonores sur celle des livres imprimés.

L'Union Mondiale des Aveugles, qui travaille en collaboration avec la Section des Bibliothèques pour Aveugles de l'IFLA [3], développe à présent de nouveaux liens avec l'Association Internationale des Editeurs. Lors d'une réunion à Genève, au début du mois, nous sommes tombés d'accord pour monter un groupe de travail permanent qui pourrait aider à vaincre les craintes des éditeurs et à explorer les moyens de travailler ensemble à notre commun objectif : fournir des ouvrages de création au plus grand nombre de gens possible.


L'appui des gouvernements

Finalement, à qui incombe la responsabilité de garantir notre Droit de lire ?

Quelquefois on est tenté de soutenir que c'est le producteur de l'information qui a le devoir de la rendre accessible à tous et au même coût. Ceci est vrai pour l'information "citoyenne", par exemple les publications gouvernementales, les formulaires d'impôts, les bulletins électoraux ou autres fascicules de promotion d'hygiène et de santé. Il en va également de toute information du consommateur : factures d'entreprises, relevés de banques, menus de restaurants ou modes d'emploi d'équipements et matériels domestiques …

Dans le secteur éducatif, ceux qui dispensent l'éducation ont le devoir de rendre les cours accessibles.

Mais il y a aussi toute une variété d'ouvrages, en général ceux qui ne se trouvent dans aucune de ces catégories : le vaste choix de publications qui constitue la majeure partie du marché du livre et du fonds des bibliothèques publiques locales. Quelle que soit la manière de le considérer, il constitue le socle de notre culture, sans lequel l'éducation est incomplète et la vie dépourvue de richesse. Qu'il s'agisse d'une oeuvre classique ou d'un roman grand public, d'une biographie, d'un récit de voyage, d'une collection de poèmes ou de mémoires politiques, il est aussi inacceptable d'en priver les personnes déficientes visuelles que de les priver d'une pleine participation à la société. Il est difficile de soutenir ici que la responsabilité d'entreprendre des activités non rentables incombe aux auteurs ou aux éditeurs. Même avec l'obligation d'un dépôt électronique, la production des documents adaptés ne serait, la plupart du temps, pas rentable. La responsabilité financière ne devrait pas revenir aux personnes aveugles ni aux associations caritatives qui les servent. Elle devrait être assurée par le budget public, par la société entière, avec l'aide du gouvernement.

Au Royaume Uni, nous avons demandé que le gouvernement mette en place un nouveau budget pour "Un accès à la lecture". Nous avons suggéré qu'un budget annuel de 20 millions £ (30 millions d'Euros) soit à la disposition de structures, existantes ou à venir, pour financer des projets ou de l'investissement. Ce sera la seule façon de combler le fossé entre information courante et information adaptée.

Vous serez étonnés d'entendre que le gouvernement britannique n'a pas encore entériné notre requête ! De telles sommes n'apparaissent pas magiquement - à moins qu'il ne s'agisse de faire la guerre. Cela nécessitera de notre part sans doute encore beaucoup d'efforts pour convaincre du bien fondé de notre demande.

Dans certains pays, notamment aux Etats-Unis, le gouvernement investit des sommes substantielles dans la production et la distribution de documents adaptés. C'est sans doute insuffisant, mais c'est mieux que rien.

 

Conclusion

Le Droit de lire est fondamental. Il est reconnu par les articles 19 et 27 de la Déclaration Universelle des Droits de l'Homme. Dans un monde si dépendant de l'information visuelle - sur papier ou sur écran - le Droit de lire est crucial.

Proclamer des exceptions au copyright avec la reconnaissance des droits des personnes handicapées, aussi bien que des auteurs et des éditeurs, constitue une base importante pour développer la confiance et la collaboration entre toutes les parties. Il nous faut poser sur cette base l'affirmation que notre Droit à la lecture ne sera pleinement assuré qu'à la condition que les éditeurs et les gouvernements jouent leur rôle au niveau national, et international.


Avril 2003.

Réferences

[1] (la version anglaise est disponible sur :
http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/topics/multi/digital_rights/doc/directive_copyright_en.pdf
la version française sur :
http://www.europa.eu.int/information_society/topics/multi/digital_rights/doc/directive_copyright_fr.pdf)

[2] World Intellectual Propriety Organisation (WIPO)

[3] International Federation of Librarian Associations

 

  Retour aux actes du colloque / Back to the proceedings